The UWHA Excellence Award is an annual tradition recognizing residents and fellows who have contributed above and beyond their required House Staff duties. Candidates for the award may have distinguished themselves in one or more of the following areas:

  • Medical advocacy
  • Leadership in clinical medicine
  • Research
  • Organized medicine i.e. professional organizations such as AMA, ACGME, etc.
  • Community service
  • Demonstrating a spirit of interdepartmental collegiality and camaraderie through teaching or clinical service
  • Improving the lives of fellow House Staff, patients and/or the medical community

Recent award recipients include:


Jeffrey Lin, Internal Medicine
Anne-Lise D’Angelo, Surgery
Christina Barreda, Pediatrics


Richard (Ricky) Martin, Internal Medicine
Barrett (Barry) Shoults, Emergency Medicine
Dana Marlowe, Psychiatry


Adam Gepner, Cardiology
Cortney McCaughey, Dermatology
John Jochman, Anesthesiology


Rebecca Busch, General Surgery
Anna Corey, Internal Medicine
Rebecca Faber, OBGYN


Jacob Behrens, Psychiatry
Neal Goldenberg, Psychiatry
Dierdre Varness, Anesthesiology


Joseph Bobadilla, Surgery
Bridget Muldowney, Anesthesiology
David Polomis, Pulm/Crit Care
Adam Wolfe, Pediatrics


Miguel Leal, Cardiology
John McCartney, Pulm/Crit Care
Dipesh Navsaria, Pediatrics